In an effort to conserve and protect the cave paintings at Lascaux while still allowing visitors to fully experience them, a new museum has been designed for the famed locale. Architects Casson Mann and Snohetta won a competition for the project with an underground complex celebrating and maintaining the 17,300 year-old works. A series of tunnels leads visitors on an experience taken from the perspective of the boys who originally discovered the caves in 1940. Varying levels of light illuminate the protected paintings, some highlighted by shafts of daylight from above, others dimly lit from below. When the museum opens, it will be the first opportunity for public viewing since 1963.